Continuing Education

All classes comply with the Mississippi Code 83-39-3 (7) (8). Everyone that holds a Professional Bail Soliciting and/or Bail Enforcement license must have 8 hours of continuing education each year.

“(7)(a) Before the issuance of any initial professional bail agent, soliciting bail agent or bail enforcement agent license, the application shall submit proof of successful completion of forty (40) *** hours of prelicensing education approved by the *** Mississippi Insurance Department unless the application is currently licensed under this chapter of July 1, 2014, and has maintained that license in compliance with the continuing education requirements of subsection (8) of this section. *** Any applicant who has met all continuing education requirements as set forth in subsection (8)(a) of this section and has been properly licensed under this chapter within ninety (90) days of submitting an application for a license shall not be subject to the prelicensing education requirement.”

Pre-License Education:

If order to be granted a license, an applicant must prove that the applicant:

  1. Is an individual – not a business entity.
  2. Is at least 21 years old.
  3. Has not ever been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude.
  4. Has met all educational requirements and passed the state exam

Pre-License education is required in order to apply for a bail agent license in Mississippi. The 40-hour Bail Agent Pre-Licensing class is for the following: new agents, those switching license types, or those whose licenses have been expired for more than one year. Note: For those switching license types, you are not required to take the Pre-License course if you completed the course with the last 24 months.

This course satisfies section 83-39-3 of the Code of Mississippi which requires submission of proof of completion of 40 hours of Pre-Licensing education for those seeking to be licensed as a professional bail agent, soliciting bail agent or bail enforcement agent.

The class meets for four (4) days from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm. You must be present the entire 40 hours to receive a completion certificate.

Pre-Licensed Education classes can be found under the Events tab.

Each participant will receive a Bail in Mississippi Manual. At the end of the course, each participant will receive a Certificate of Attendance. An official photo ID is required to attend the class and receive the Certificate of Attendance.